Battleground Europe Forums  
Visit the official WWII Online:Battleground Europe website

Go Back   Battleground Europe Forums > COMMUNITY SUPPORT > COMMUNITY TECH & BILLING SUPPORT > COMMUNITY SUPPORT (WINDOWS)

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Old 05-29-2012, 06:56 AM
bigrow bigrow no ha iniciado sesión
Member

Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,661

bigrow's Avatar
Default Will a SSD make a big difference?

Specifically, will a SSD drive improve spawn in times when switching to a different area of the map?

I have a good system(2500k/8gb ram/ win7) with a decent HDD, but like most(all?) others it can take up to about 30 seconds to change to a new area since 1.31. I can handle the wait, but when i am MOIC this is VERY annoying as you don't know what important text you have missed while trying to spawn in. I have always been the type of MOIC who likes to spawn in wherever there is action to see for myself what is happening, this is being made more difficult with the current delay.

So, anyone using SSDs has this improved for you? If so, how much difference has it made?
Reply With Quote
  #2   Report Post  
Old 05-29-2012, 07:49 AM
petie petie no ha iniciado sesión
Member

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,909

Default Re: Will a SSD make a big difference?

No, i use ssd, pretty much same setup as you

I5 2500k
16gb RAM
Gtx 470
Win 7 ult x64

60gb SSD for O/S and this game only

Liading times still take the piss, im seriously considering not playing anymore because of it.

This only happened since 1.34 for me and its getting old really fast, if 1.35 doesnt fix, inwill probably leave

Ridiculous game, my machine can handle anything i throw at it

This game makes it look like its 10 years old
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3   Report Post  
Old 05-29-2012, 01:51 PM
bigrow bigrow no ha iniciado sesión
Member

Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,661

bigrow's Avatar
Default Re: Will a SSD make a big difference?

Ok thanks petie, i'll save my money for now then

Oh, and i meant 1.34
Reply With Quote
  #4   Report Post  
Old 05-29-2012, 04:27 PM
mrfancyp mrfancyp no ha iniciado sesión
Junior Member

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 618

Default Re: Will a SSD make a big difference?

SSDs are great, but the 1.34 host has some weird delays, so you don't notice the faster loading times. Still one of the best investments you can make in my opinon due to the short boot times, program loading times and the noise reduction.
Reply With Quote
  #5   Report Post  
Old 06-18-2012, 07:40 PM
clone9cz clone9cz no ha iniciado sesión
Junior Member

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Prague
Posts: 506
Send a message via ICQ to clone9cz

clone9cz's Avatar
Default Re: Will a SSD make a big difference?

I wil be satisfied when the SD wil be reduced by loading time since 1.34, it's terrible.
__________________


tanks-online-mmo.com - vehicle video roster
Czech Panzer Abteilung (CzPA) - CO
12. Armee, XIX. Armeekorps, 27. Infanterie Division 3. Kampfgruppe
Battleground Europe CZ and Tankový simulátor
Reply With Quote
  #6   Report Post  
Old 06-19-2012, 06:28 AM
Vampress Vampress no ha iniciado sesión
Senior Member

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Nowheresville
Posts: 26,468

Default Re: Will a SSD make a big difference?

not much stuff actually can use an SSD to run stuff faster...



working on a large database on SSD u will see BIG speed improvements over HDD's






most stuff just loads in quicker...AND most programs since computers have ALOT of memory now just preload most stuff in already so your not doing little fetches constantly from your SSD/HDD like you might have done 25 years ago when you were playing on a 8 bit computer with 64K of ram and constantly trying to not use up the memory.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jengel2
Vampress and Molniya (or Ghostdog) are kinda like the Yin and the Yang of the OT Forums.
Quote:
Originally Posted by miller37
Don't worry vampress, they just attack your spelling because that's all they can attack.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dulittle
I now know Vampress is indeed George Carlin
Reply With Quote
  #7   Report Post  
Old 06-20-2012, 02:04 PM
indo420 indo420 no ha iniciado sesión
Member

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Oklahoma City,OK
Posts: 18,715

indo420's Avatar
Default Re: Will a SSD make a big difference?

setting your default allocation unit size to 10,000k instead of the standard 4196K that i'm guessing you did when you first formatted your hard drive will decrease loading times tremendously, even on conventional HDD's.
Reply With Quote
  #8   Report Post  
Old 06-22-2012, 01:48 PM
torquil torquil no ha iniciado sesión

Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 104

Default Re: Will a SSD make a big difference?

SSD's made a big difference for me on startup loading; Everything else goes down to your RAM size/speed from the looks of it.

I feel plenty spoilt now with dual intel 520's in raid.

I actually wish the game would generally use more RAM, so I could see further; 16GB (mostly unused) really is too much for this game.
Reply With Quote
  #9   Report Post  
Old 06-22-2012, 05:18 PM
indo420 indo420 no ha iniciado sesión
Member

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Oklahoma City,OK
Posts: 18,715

indo420's Avatar
Default Re: Will a SSD make a big difference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by torquil View Post
SSD's made a big difference for me on startup loading; Everything else goes down to your RAM size/speed from the looks of it.

I feel plenty spoilt now with dual intel 520's in raid.

I actually wish the game would generally use more RAM, so I could see further; 16GB (mostly unused) really is too much for this game.
maximum allocation size is 2048MB for the engine.

Just like the recognition of a single core, there is nothing that can be done about this with out totally abandoning the engine.
Reply With Quote
  #10   Report Post  
Old 06-22-2012, 07:44 PM
Vampress Vampress no ha iniciado sesión
Senior Member

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Nowheresville
Posts: 26,468

Default Re: Will a SSD make a big difference?

its because the game uses primative 32 bit 20th century computer technology...





everyone else in the 21st century has long since moved on and uses 64 bit computer code which allow for the FULL use of system memory with modern 64 bit OS's






really 32 bit stuff is fit to stuff in the trash at this point in time...but companies still refuse to move into the 20th century because they are afraid they might 'lose' a few dumpster diving customers that can't find 2 pennies under the sofa cushion to upgrade to 21st century standards.




its also the reason why direct X 9.0 is still coming out on new games(diablo III, etc)...instead of the much better direct X 11. Companies just can't bear to lose even 1 customer that is still running 20th century hardware
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jengel2
Vampress and Molniya (or Ghostdog) are kinda like the Yin and the Yang of the OT Forums.
Quote:
Originally Posted by miller37
Don't worry vampress, they just attack your spelling because that's all they can attack.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dulittle
I now know Vampress is indeed George Carlin

Last edited by Vampress; 06-22-2012 at 07:48 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #11   Report Post  
Old 06-23-2012, 09:26 AM
torquil torquil no ha iniciado sesión

Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 104

Default Re: Will a SSD make a big difference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by indo420 View Post
maximum allocation size is 2048MB for the engine.

Just like the recognition of a single core, there is nothing that can be done about this with out totally abandoning the engine.
I doubt it really, because 2048 is not an engine limitation, its a windows object size limitation.

You cant make an object bigger then 2GB in windows, and that actually carries over to 64bit as well (Using .Net as an example, I think its a native limitation as well).

The engine, or so you say is made up of data structures, graphical subroutines, user input interfaces and customized simulations, with 3rd party systems intergrated.

If they so chose to; they could adapt their data structures to account for multiple 2GB objects and unless it was really badly designed, I doubt it would be much of a problem.

CRS should push the limits of modern computers! If someone has 2GB Ram, make it so they can play; but if I have 32GB: Make it so the game really makes something out of it! WOOT!

(Tired of seeing the edge of loaded tiles at the end of the max view distance in my airplane :_( )

Last edited by torquil; 06-23-2012 at 09:31 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #12   Report Post  
Old 06-23-2012, 04:59 PM
indo420 indo420 no ha iniciado sesión
Member

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Oklahoma City,OK
Posts: 18,715

indo420's Avatar
Default Re: Will a SSD make a big difference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by torquil View Post
I doubt it really, because 2048 is not an engine limitation, its a windows object size limitation.

You cant make an object bigger then 2GB in windows, and that actually carries over to 64bit as well (Using .Net as an example, I think its a native limitation as well).

The engine, or so you say is made up of data structures, graphical subroutines, user input interfaces and customized simulations, with 3rd party systems intergrated.

If they so chose to; they could adapt their data structures to account for multiple 2GB objects and unless it was really badly designed, I doubt it would be much of a problem.

CRS should push the limits of modern computers! If someone has 2GB Ram, make it so they can play; but if I have 32GB: Make it so the game really makes something out of it! WOOT!

(Tired of seeing the edge of loaded tiles at the end of the max view distance in my airplane :_( )


I can tell you right now I've seen my 3DS maya consume over 6GB of system memory while compiling a level
Reply With Quote
  #13   Report Post  
Old 06-23-2012, 05:21 PM
torquil torquil no ha iniciado sesión

Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 104

Default Re: Will a SSD make a big difference?

Indeed; and that proves its possible to use smart programming to use more then 2GB :_)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.     Meg


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2014 Playnet, Inc. All Rights Reserved. World War II Online™, WWII Online™, Battleground Europe™ are trademarks of Playnet Incorporated.